My personal review of the Blackberry Playbook

When I first heard the rumors in 2010 that RIM (Research In Motion) was developing a tablet computer (code named “Blackpad”) , I knew I must eventually own one. I’ve been an avid Blackberry phone user since ’01 and really liked their security features and the ability to properly interface with Enterprise. I had higher hopes for the Ipad but was very disappointed when Apple finally introduced the model. It seemed to me no more than a glorified Iphone without Flash capability. But through Apple’s design and marketing of Apps, I knew it would be a an instant hit to most people – as it is. I seriously considered an Ipad anyway, but I was very turned-off by Steve Jobs’ comment insinuating he wanted to crush the Android. I am a confirmed Open-Source kind of guy and the comment didn’t sit well. So I waited until RIM would bring out their own tablet to maybe try it instead.

I really liked the idea that RIM was building the Playbook on the QNX platform. QNX is 30 years old but as an embedded micro-kernel type system, I figured the unit would probably be able to do multi-tasking quite well – something Ipads can’t do. So I waited some more. And finally RIM brought the Playbook to the market last Spring. However, I am not the kind of person to rush right out and buy the revision of anything so I sat back to do a more thorough research on the unit and track various websites concerning user reactions.

At first the reactions were extremely positive. The unit did indeed perform faster in graphics rendering and integrated true multitasking into its environment. The first few months, sales were brisk and all seemed good. Then things started to slip. Most informed people knew the unit did not have a native e-mail client and only connected using wi-fi, and for the most part they were happy being able to bridge the unit to their existing Blackberries. But problems began arising as soon as the unit crossed over from dedicated BB users to the general public. And I must lay the blame at RIM’s doorstep because of their lack of a clear marketing campaign and poor planning by rushing the unit to the market.

Many people bought the Playbook thinking it had all the features installed akin to the Ipad and it didn’t. Now personally I believe that most consumers are truly like sheep and will blindly follow each other to the slaughter pen only to realize they screwed up when they get there. And if you are a manufacturer who clearly understands this concept, like Apple, you design your products to appeal to the least common denominator and everybody is happy. RIM wanted to elevate above this level with the Playbook yet didn’t forewarn people that “our product isn’t for everybody”. Then last Summer, RIM announced there would be major changes to the device allowing the installation of Android apps, a native e-mail and contact list, and other improvements included with a new software patch to the kernel. People waited with baited breath, yet there was never a patch. Now that patch is scheduled for February 2012. Oops. Big problem now becomes major problem and there are a lot of pissed-off people out there who hate your guts. But what about the device itself?

It is far superior than most would imagine.

QNX, unlike Apple IOS, spreads input and output to segmented sections of the CPU. Instead of going to the central kernel and fetching requests and then being granted time, QNX distributes these requests from smaller sections of the kernel. This enables the CPU to carry out parallel command sets in a more non-linear fashion. Apple IOS must make these requests one by one in a linear scale which is why the Ipad is so slow in rendering graphics and why it cannot effectively multi-task. I’ve loaded up to eight running apps on my Playbook in the background and only then begin to notice degradation in graphics. Also, since the Playbook’s CPU isn’t needing to spread itself thin with an interface layer for cellphone communication like G3 or G4, the unit is much more free to process data at a higher rate.

The Playbook was designed with no native email or calendar or contacts because all that is a security risk. The Ipad is well known in hacker circles to be easily penetrated by nefarious exploits unbeknown to the user. The transfer of information using email, calendar and contacts using the bridge between the Blackberry phone and Playbook is RSA encrypted. Which makes the Playbook the only tablet computer approved by use in the United States, Australian, and Russian governments.

I’ve owned my Playbook for a couple of months now and find it to be an incredibly versatile device. I have no major complaints with the unit at all. I look forward to the arrival of the updated OS in February and if RIM can get this one right, then they’ll be back in the saddle. However, I doubt they will re-capture the love lost with the average tablet buyer – but this unit isn’t made for them anyway.

Leave a comment